Important new CUSMA notice

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The new CUSMA

A very important notice to all our North American clients, importers, exporters and manufacturers

If your company is currently claiming NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement) preferential treatment for your imports into Canada from the United States and Mexico, or for your exports from Canada to the United States and Mexico, be advised that NAFTA WILL BE REPLACED BY a new free trade agreement on July 1, 2020.

The new Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA) takes effect July 1, 2020.

For your shipments (import or export) which will be customs cleared on or after July 1, you will no longer be able to claim the NAFTA preferential treatment in Canada, the United States or Mexico. As of July 1, for products “originating” in North America, you will have to claim a preferential treatment under the new CUSMA treaty.

NEW CERTIFICATES OF ORIGIN WILL BE REQUIRED!

AS OF JULY 1, customs authorities (e.g. CBSA and U.S. CBP) will not accept a NAFTA Certificate of Origin to claim the CUSMA “duty-free” treatment. For your 2020 blanket certificates of origin, prepared according to NAFTA, these will apply up to June 30, 2020, only. Effective July 1, the product must be certified as an “originating” good per a CUSMA Certification of Origin.

Unlike NAFTA, the new agreement does not call for a prescribed form. Instead, CUSMA requires a Certification of Origin, which can be included on a commercial invoice or a separate document, insofar as this new Certification contains all the mandatory minimum data elements set out in Chapter 5 / Annex 5-A of CUSMA.

To allow W2C to apply the “duty-free” treatment under CUSMA to your products that will be customs cleared on or after July 1, W2C must be in possession of a valid CUSMA Certification of Origin, included either on the commercial invoice, Canada Customs Invoice or Proforma Invoice; or included on a CUSMA Certificate of Origin template of any format that contains all of the prescribed minimum data elements.

See also additional information on the CUSMA Certification of Origin, as published by the CBSA.

W2C has developed a CUSMA Certification of Origin template which you can access via the “Resources” tab available on our website: https://w2c.ca/en/resources/.

Also be advised that the “Rules of Origin” (NAFTA vs. CUSMA) for several products (HS Codes), have changed. Before goods produced in Canada, the United States or Mexico can be certified on a Certification of Origin, they must qualify as an “originating” product under the “Rules of Origin” of the new CUSMA agreement. A product previously certified under NAFTA is not valid if imported/exported on or after July 1. Such a product must be re-qualified and re-certified under the new CUSMA rules.

For more information, please visit our blog to read various articles on CUSMA, register for one of our seminars on CUSMA, or contact your W2C representative.


Please note that all information on this blog is subject to change. All blog articles are for information purposes only. We are always available to answer in detail any questions our clients may have regarding the information in this blog.

share this article


About the author
With over 25 years of experience in customs brokerage, transportation and logistics, Marc has acquired a solid expertise in improving logistics and customs performance for Canadian importers and exporters.

Important new CUSMA notice

AVIS IMPORTANT: Le nouvel ACEUM

Ceci est un avis très important à tous nos clients, importateurs, exportateurs et manufacturiers nord-américains.

Si votre entreprise revendique présentement le traitement préférentiel d’origine ALÉNA (Accord de Libre-Échange Nord-Américain) pour vos importations au Canada à partir des États-Unis et du Mexique, ou pour vos exportations à partir du Canada vers les États-Unis et le Mexique, sachez que l’ALÉNA sera remplacé par un nouvel accord de libre-échange à partir du 1er juillet, 2020.

Le nouvel Accord Canada-États-Unis-Mexique (ACEUM) entre en vigueur le 01 juillet, 2020.

Pour vos expéditions (import ou export) qui se verront dédouanées à partir du 1er juillet, il ne sera plus possible de revendiquer le traitement de préférence ALÉNA au Canada, aux États-Unis ou au Mexique. À partir du 1er juillet, pour les produits « originaires » de l’Amérique du Nord, vous devrez revendiquer un traitement de préférence en vertu du nouveau traité ACEUM.

NOUVEAUX CERTIFICATS D’ORIGINE REQUIS !

 À compter du 1er juillet, les autorités douanières (p.ex. ASFC et U.S. CBP) n’accepteront pas un Certificat d’origine ALÉNA (NAFTA Certificate of Origin) pour réclamer le traitement « en franchise » ACEUM. Pour vos certificats d’origine annuels 2020, selon l’ALÉNA, ceux-ci s’appliqueront jusqu’au 30 Juin, 2020 seulement. En date du 1er juillet et après, le produit visé doit être certifié « originaire » en vertu d’une Certification d’origine ACEUM.

Contrairement à l’ALÉNA, le nouvel accord n’impose pas un formulaire prescrit. Plutôt, l’ACEUM impose une Certification d’origine qui peut être rédigée à même une facture commerciale ou un document à part, en autant que cette nouvelle Certification comporte tous les éléments de données minimales obligatoires, tels qu’énumérés au Chapitre 5 / Annexe 5-A de l’ACEUM.

Alors, pour que W2C puisse appliquer le traitement de préférence « en franchise de droits » de l’ACEUM à vos produits qui seront dédouanés à partir du 1er juillet, W2C doit être en possession d’une Certification d’origine ACEUM en bonne et due forme, soit sur la facture commerciale, ou la facture des Douanes canadiennes, ou la facture pro-forma ; ou selon une Certification d’origine ACEUM selon un modèle de Certificat d’origine quelconque qui comporte tous les éléments de données prescrits.

Voir aussi les infos additionnelles sur la Certification d’origine ACEUM publiées par l’ASFC.

W2C a développé un modèle de Certification d’origine ACEUM dont vous pouvez accéder via l’onglet « Ressources » disponible sur notre site web : https://w2c.ca/ressources/

Sachez aussi que les « règles d’origine » (ALÉNA vs. ACEUM) pour plusieurs produits et Codes S.H. ont changé. Avant qu’une marchandise produite au CA, aux É-U ou au MX puisse être certifiée sur une Certification d’origine, celle-ci doit se qualifier à titre de produit « originaire » en vertu des « règles d’origine » du nouvel accord ACEUM. Un produit certifié en vertu de l’ALÉNA n’est pas valide si importé/exporté à partir du 1er juillet. Ce produit doit être requalifié et recertifié en vertu des nouvelles règles de l’ACEUM.Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter notre blog pour lire nos articles sur l’ACEUM. Ou, inscrivez-vous à un de nos séminaires sur l’ACEUM. Ou, contactez votre représentant W2C.


Veuillez prendre note que toutes les informations contenues dans ce blogue sont sujettes à changement. Les articles de ce blogue sont écrits dans une visée informative. Ils comportent des informations générales. Nous demeurons à la disposition de notre clientèle pour plus de précisions sur les sujets abordés dans ce blogue.

partager cet article


À propos de l'auteur
Fort de plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans le domaine du courtage en douane, du transport et de la logistique, Marc a acquis une solide expertise en matière d’amélioration des performances logistiques et de douane pour les importateurs et exportateurs canadiens.