CUSMA (USMCA) agreement will soon come into effect

On March 13, 2020, Parliament passed Bill C-4, giving royal assent to “An Act to implement the Agreement between Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States” (the “CUSMA Implementation Act”). The legislative processwas completed on a highly expedited basis, much earlier than expected. Parliament then immediately adjourned for a five-week period (until April 20) in response to the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic.

With the passage of the CUSMA Implementation Act into law, Canada was the last of the three partner countries to ratify the new agreement, paving the way for CUSMA (or “USMCA” as it is called in the United States, or “T-MEC” in Mexico) to enter into force.

In accordance with paragraph 2 of the Protocol replacing NAFTA with CUSMA, all three countries must notify each other, in writing, when they have completed their internal implementation procedures, after which CUSMA shall enter into force (and NAFTA shall be terminated) on the first day of the third month following the last written notification. 

Canada needed to complete its legislative process for Bill C-4 before notification could be carried out under the relevant CUSMA provisions. On Thursday, April 2, 2020, Canada notified the United States and Mexico that it has finished its ratification process and is now ready to implement the measures in CUSMA. On April 3, 2020, Mexico notified Canada and the U.S. that it was also ready to implement CUSMA. If the United States gives its notice to Canada and Mexico before the end of April, then per the protocol, the new CUSMA could take effect as early as July 1, 2020.

It is not clear how soon the United States will act. The U.S. administration had previously wanted CUSMA in place by June 1. But that was before the COVID-19 pandemic substantially disrupted the global economy and drastically altered cross-border trade between the three countries. 

Given the current pandemic situation, many industry and trade associations as well as certain legislators are concerned that a July 1 timeline is not achievable, and would place unnecessary pressure on stakeholders, since many businesses and supply chains are presently shut down because of COVID-19.

Nevertheless, the new agreement will come into effect sooner rather than later. Accordingly, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) has already begun to publish the following guidelines in preparation for the implementation of CUSMA:

Customs Notice 20-13 (CUSMA: Amendment to the Definition of “Specially Defined Mixtures”)

Customs Notice 20-14 (Implementation of CUSMA)

Customs Notice 20-15 (CUSMA: Increase to the LVS-Low Value Shipment Threshold)

It is worth noting that CUSMA does not provide transitional rules; in other words, on the date the new agreement comes into force, it will be the CUSMA rules that apply to imports and exports on which the CUSMA preference is claimed. Previous NAFTA rules will be terminated and will only apply to imports and exports where the NAFTA preference was claimed BEFORE the CUSMA implementation date.

Importers and exporters who currently rely on NAFTA need to plan and prepare for the changes that CUSMA will bring, such as changes to product-specific rules of origin (changes to either tariff shift or Regional Value Content rules), changes to Certificate of Origin requirements, and changes to Customs procedures, to name a few.

For more information on changes, please consult W2C’s previous article: The New CUSMA Agreement – Are You Ready?

In addition, for express courier shipments, there will be changes to “De Minimis” thresholds. Below are the fixed amounts for De Minimis value for express courier shipments entering the three countries: 

  • The United States: USD $800.00 – same as the current amount
  • Canada: CAD $150.00 for customs duties and CAD $40.00 for taxes (GST, PST, HST) – up from CAD $20.00
  • Mexico: USD $117.00 for customs duties and USD $50.00 for taxes – up from 645 pesos or USD $34.00 approx.

Moreover, effective on the day CUSMA comes into effect, the CBSA will increase its LVS (Low Value Shipment) thresholds to an estimated value for duty not exceeding CAD $3,300.00 (up from the current CAD $2,500.00).

In conclusion, while the new CUSMA is based on existing NAFTA principles, there are several changes. W2C recommends that you review your internal processes for management of origin certifications and country of origin analysis under the new CUSMA rules. Even though the NAFTA rules remain in effect until CUSMA comes into force, NAFTA will become obsolete on new transactions crossing the border once CUSMA is implemented.

W2C offers several services to help you navigate the changes ahead:

  • Customs training
  • Determining tariff classification
  • Conducting origin analysis based on any FTA (NAFTA, CUSMA, CETA, CPTPP, etc.)
  • Support during Customs audits
  • Requests for Advance Rulings (CBSA) or Binding Rulings (CBP)
  • And much more

Don’t hesitate to contact W2C today to speak to one of our consultants.


Please note that all information on this blog is subject to change. All blog articles are for information purposes only. We are always available to answer in detail any questions our clients may have regarding the information in this blog.

share this article


About the author
With over 25 years of experience in customs brokerage, transportation and logistics, Marc has acquired a solid expertise in improving logistics and customs performance for Canadian importers and exporters.

L’accord ACEUM (USMCA) entrera en vigueur bientôt

Le 13 mars 2020, le Parlement a adopté le Projet de loi C-4, accordant la sanction royale à la «Loi portant sur la mise en œuvre de l’accord entre le Canada, les États-Unis d’Amérique et les États-Unis mexicains» (la «Loi de mise en œuvre de l’ACEUM»). Le processus législatif s’est achevé très rapidement, beaucoup plus tôt que prévu. Immédiatement après, le Parlement fut ajourné pour une période de cinq semaines (jusqu’au 20 avril) en réponse à la pandémie du coronavirus COVID-19.

Avec l’adoption de la Loi de mise en œuvre de l’ACEUM, le Canada est le dernier des trois pays partenaires à ratifier le nouvel accord, ouvrant ainsi la voie à l’ACEUM (ou USMCA comme on l’appelle aux États-Unis ou au T-MEC au Mexique) pour entrer en vigueur.

Conformément au paragraphe 2 du Protocole remplaçant l’ALENA par l’ACEUM, les trois pays doivent s’informer mutuellement, par écrit, lorsqu’ils auront terminé leurs procédures internes de mise en œuvre, après quoi l’ACEUM entrera en vigueur (et l’ALENA prendra fin), le premier jour du troisième mois suivant la dernière notification écrite.

Le Canada devait achever son processus législatif pour le Projet de loi C-4 avant que la notification puisse être exécutée en vertu des dispositions pertinentes de l’ACEUM. Jeudi, le 2 avril 2020, le Canada a avisé les États-Unis et le Mexique qu’il avait complété son processus de ratification et qu’il était maintenant prêt à mettre en œuvre les mesures au sein de l’ACEUM. Le 3 avril 2020, le Mexique a informé le Canada et les États-Unis qu’il était également prêt à mettre en œuvre l’ACEUM. Si les États-Unis transmettent leur avis au Canada et au Mexique avant la fin avril, alors, selon le protocole, le nouvel ACEUM pourrait entrer en vigueur dès le 1er juillet 2020.

On ne sait pas dans quel délai les États-Unis agiront. L’administration américaine avait auparavant voulu que l’ACEUM soit en place le 1er juin. Mais c’était avant que la pandémie du COVID-19 ne perturbe considérablement l’économie mondiale et ne modifie radicalement le commerce transfrontalier entre les trois pays.

À la lumière de la pandémie actuelle du coronavirus, de nombreuses associations industrielles et commerciales ainsi que certains législateurs craignent que ce calendrier ne soit pas réalisable et mette une pression inutile sur les parties prenantes, car de nombreuses entreprises et chaînes d’approvisionnement sont actuellement fermées en raison du COVID-19.

Néanmoins, le nouvel accord entrera en vigueur plus tôt que plus tard. À titre d’exemple, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada a déjà commencé à publier certaines lignes directrices en vue de la mise en œuvre de l’AMEUC. Voir:

Avis des douanes 20-13 (ACEUM : Modification à la définition de « mélanges définis de spécialité »)

Avis des douanes 20-14 (Mise en œuvre de l’ACEUM)

Avis des douanes 20-15 (ACEUM : Augmentation du seuil EFV – Expédition de faible valeur)

Il convient de noter que l’ACEUM ne prévoit pas de règles transitoires ; autrement dit, à la date d’entrée en vigueur du nouvel accord, ce seront les règles ACEUM qui s’appliqueront aux importations et exportations pour lesquelles la préférence ACEUM sera revendiquée. Les anciennes règles de l’ALENA seront abrogées et ne s’appliqueront qu’aux importations et exportations où la préférence de l’ALENA fut revendiquée AVANT la date de mise en œuvre de l’ACEUM.

Les importateurs et exportateurs qui dépendent actuellement de l’ALÉNA doivent planifier et se préparer aux changements que l’ACEUM apportera, tels que les changements aux règles d’origine spécifiques aux produits (changements aux règles de changement tarifaire ou aux règles de teneur en valeur régionale), ou aux changements aux exigences du certificat d’origine, et aux modifications des procédures douanières, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

Pour plus d’informations sur les modifications, veuillez consulter l’article précédent de W2C: Le nouvel accord ACEUM – êtes-vous prêt ?   

De plus, pour les envois par courrier express, des changements seront apportés aux seuils « De Minimis ». Le montant fixe pour la valeur De Minimis pour les envois par courrier express qui entrent :

  • Aux États-Unis, sera fixé à $ 800,00 USD; identique au montant actuel.
  • Au Canada, sera fixé à 150,00 $ CAD pour les droits de douane et 40,00 $ CAD pour les taxes (TPS, TVQ, TVH); contre les 20,00 $ CAD actuels.
  • Au Mexique, sera fixé à $  117,00 USD pour les droits de douane et $ 50,00 USD pour les taxes (contre les 645 pesos ou $ 34,00 USD actuels).

Aussi, dès l’entrée en vigueur de l’ACEUM, l’ASFC va augmenter les seuils d’EFV (Expédition de faible valeur) applicables jusqu’à une valeur en douane estimative de 3 300,00 $ CAD (contre les 2 500,00 $ CAD actuels).

En conclusion, bien que le nouvel ACEUM soit basé sur les principes existants de l’ALENA, il y a plusieurs changements. Il est recommandé de revoir vos processus internes de gestion des certifications d’origine et d’analyse du pays d’origine selon les nouvelles règles de l’ACEUM. Bien que les règles de l’ALENA restent en place jusqu’à l’entrée en vigueur de l’ACEUM, l’ALENA deviendra désuet pour les nouvelles transactions qui franchiront la frontière une fois que l’ACEUM sera mis en œuvre.

W2C offre plusieurs services pour vous aider à naviguer dans les changements à venir :

  • Formation douanière
  • Détermination du classement tarifaire
  • Réalisation d’une analyse de l’origine basée sur un ALE (ALENA, ACEUM, AECG, PTPGP, etc.)
  • Assistance lors des audits douaniers
  • Demandes de décisions anticipées (ASFC) ou de décisions contraignantes (CBP)
  • Et beaucoup plus

Contactez W2C aujourd’hui pour parler à l’un de nos consultants.


Veuillez prendre note que toutes les informations contenues dans ce blogue sont sujettes à changement. Les articles de ce blogue sont écrits dans une visée informative. Ils comportent des informations générales. Nous demeurons à la disposition de notre clientèle pour plus de précisions sur les sujets abordés dans ce blogue.

partager cet article


À propos de l'auteur
Fort de plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans le domaine du courtage en douane, du transport et de la logistique, Marc a acquis une solide expertise en matière d’amélioration des performances logistiques et de douane pour les importateurs et exportateurs canadiens.